St. Mary’s County Historical Society

Mission Statement

The St. Mary’s County Historical Society (SMCHS) collects, preserves, researches and interprets the history of St. Mary’s County, Maryland.

Its collections are held in trust for the use and education of the public.  They are primarily composed of documentary and archival materials with a focus on the county’s people, places, and events.  This information is made available at the Research Center maintained by SMCHS, through publications such as The Chronicles of St. Mary’s and Tudor Hall Times as well as through programs and exhibits.

SMCHS also provides stewardship of 18th century Tudor Hall which functions as its main facility.  We welcome donations and are a 501 (c)(3) organization.

Operating Year: January - December 2019

Board of Directors
President: Dr. John Roache
Vice President: Susan Dyer
Secretary: Ernest Bell
Treasurer: Christine Senese
Director: George Baroniak
Director: Nancy Dodge
Director: Karen Grubber
Director: Vacant
Director: Hon. Roy Dyson
Director: Dr. Robert Goldsmith
Director: Peter Himmelheber
Director: Silas Hurry
Director: Jason Babcock
Director: Patrick Woodburn
Director: Vacant
Director: Delores Magnani
Executive Director: Peter LaPorte
Administrative Assistant: Mary Wolfe
Archivist: Carol Moody
Research: Karen Wood
Buildings and Grounds: George Baroniak
Chronicles Editor: Peter Himmelheber
Development: Karen Grubber
Finance: Christine Senese
Membership: Susan Dyer
Nominating: Hon. Roy Dyson
Programs & Events: Dr. Robert Goldsmith
Public Relations: Delores Magnani
Research & Collections: Silas Hurry
Technology: Peter LaPorte
Volunteers: Vacant
The Chronicles Editor: Peter Himmelheber
Tudor Hall Times Editor: Peter LaPorte
Website Administrator: Peter LaPorte